News Archives

Blast from the Past: Luis Gonzalez’ Flare Wins 2001 World Series for Arizona Diamondbacks

November 16th, 2012 at 5:35 PM
By Wayne Staich

This was one for the New Guys. The Arizona Diamondbacks broke in as an expansion team in 1998 and wasted no time in laying claim to their first World Series title, taking down the mighty New York Yankees in the 2001 Fall Classic. 

To say that the Diamondbacks were underdogs would be like saying that the tortoise is just slightly slower than the hare. So dominant were the Yankees at the time that in a six year stretch, from 1996 to 2001, they appeared in five World Series and won four of them. They won three straight titles from 1998 to 2000, sweeping two of them and taking the other in five games. 

This series is considered one of the best ever, with four of the seven games decided by one run. Arizona won the first two games, New York proceeded to win three straight one-run games at home, and the D-backs knotted the series with a 15-2 shellacking in game six. 

This remains to date as the lone World Series appearance for the Diamondbacks, but their mad dash from expansion club to champs in just four years probably stands as the fastest ever. Luis Gonzalez was the hero, but pitchers Curt Schilling and Randy Johnson shared MVP honors. 

Tags: Arizona Diamondbacks, Baseball, Curt Schilling, Luis Gonzalez, MLB, New York Yankees, Randy Johnson, San Diego, San Diego Padres

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: